One thing I’ve grown to love about being a Momma is the gift of a new day. No matter what happened today we’re all going to wake up tomorrow smiling, cuddling and promising to listen, to be patient and kind.

Thank goodness for the new day.

Today is Sunday. We woke up…watched far more Diego then I had hoped to see in my entire life, ate breakfast in front of the show and reveled in our lazy day.

Breakfast was healthy, Hazel wrapped her arm around Rose’s shoulders while they watched and Hazel responded to all of Diego’s promts with a boisterous (and correct) answer and my heart swelled.

But as quickly as boo boos mend and attentions divert the day went south.

Hazel insisted on wearing a tutu when she finally agreed to get dressed. Her ensemble was mostly adorable until while I was trying to get Rose down for a nap our cat decided the tutu was a new toy. Hazels cries for help rang through the second floor and Rose’s eyes popped open after 5 minutes of rest.

Now with two tired girls and a frustrated Mommy I stumbled through the rest of the day. While Hazel ate an enormous lunch I watched Rose hand her pb & j to the grateful dog under the table. I agreed to play Yahtzee Jr. without realizing the pieces had been strewn across the room earlier. Then in a last ditch effort I offered to take a drive to get Hazel a new winter hat only to realize the store wasn’t open on Sunday…commence come apart.

Then back at home the winds changed in my favor and Rose fell asleep in my arms. I transferred her to bed and gave Hazel that attention she missed out on earlier, made a dinner they loved and watched them cheer when Daddy walked in the door.

Now the girls are both asleep…the house is quiet except for the methodic rhythm of their white noise machine and I am sitting her feeling blessed and thankful.

Thankful for my family, and for tomorrow…another chance to be the Momma I want to be.